Any person between the age of 12 and 20 who wishes to operate a vessel designed to be propelled by a motor or sail (motorboat, PWC, sailboat, sailboard) without being under direct and audible supervision must complete an approved boater education course. Any person under the age of 12 must be accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a parent or person over the age of 17. There is no minimum age to operate a sailboat if the operator has successfully passed an approved boating education course.
A Kansas Boater Education Certificate (or boating license) proves that you’ve obtained the knowledge you need to safely operate a watercraft on Kansas’ waterways. Boaters can get certified by taking the official BOATsmart! Kansas Boating Safety Course and Test now.
Approved by Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism, 512 SE 25th Ave, Pratt, Kansas, 67124, (620) 672-5911, http://ksoutdoors.com
Propelled Motor or Sail
Official & State Approved.
We've been making smart boaters for more than 13 years. BOATsmart! is North America’s largest Boating Safety Course Provider. We’re proud to be America’s Official Boating Educator. Your BOATsmart! Card is accepted in more than 40 U.S. states & in Canada. We’ve got you covered!
Our animated and narrated Boating Safety Course is perfect for all ages. Study from your Smartphone, Tablet or Desktop and switch between devices at any time. Get certified now and cruise through at your own pace. We'll automatically track your progress as you go.
Think of us as your boating coaches and get in touch by phone, email or chat anytime you need our support! Our team of safe boating experts can answer any questions you have about getting your Boating License, boating laws or they can even just hook you up with some great tips and advice to help you enjoy your time on the water.
What Happens If It Takes Me Longer Than 3-Hours To Complete The BOATsmart! Course? Will I Need To Start Over?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Study Guide before taking the Final Test.
Where Can I Take the Kansas Boating Safety Test?
Take the state-approved Boating Test right here on this website. Click here to access BOATsmart!’s 3-hour, Online Course. Keep in mind, you must complete the BOATsmart! Course prior to accessing the Official Test. But there’s no rush, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide at in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed the course you’ll be able to immediately access the test.
What Will I Learn In The BOATsmart! Boater Safety Course?
Understand the Rules and Regulations that govern America’s waterways
Equip your boat with the right equipment
Properly maintain your boat and its equipment
Share the waterways and operate your boat in a safe and responsible manner
Have confidence when navigating amongst other boat traffic during the day or night
Be able to recognize different marker buoys and navigate using them
Know how to respond in emergency situations
How do I prepare for the Kansas boating safety test?
Prepare for the official Kansas Boating Safety Test by taking the BOATsmart Course which includes animated, narrated and brilliantly illustrated lessons, perfect for all ages. The 3-hour Kansas Boating Safety Course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism and includes all the knowledge you need in order to obtain your Kansas Boater Education Certificate.
Is a Boating License required in Kansas?
Yes, all motorized boat operators between the ages of 12-20, are required to have a Kansas Boating License if they are unsupervised and operating a powerboat, sailboat or PWC. Even if you aren’t required to have a boating license, you will benefit from being a BOATsmart! cardholder – once you’ve obtained your Card, it will be good for life, it will keep you legal when boating in other states and you’ll even save money on your boat insurance.
Is BOATsmart! a recognized boating safety organization?
Yes. The BOATsmart! Boating Safety Course and Test have been officially approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and is also recognized by the United States Coast Guard (USCG).
Who must wear life jackets when boating in Kansas?
The only boaters REQUIRED to wear life jackets when boating in Kansas are: Any boater 12 years of age or younger who is on board a boat that is underway or who is being towed by a boat and all PWC operators and passengers
Do I need a driver’s license to operate a motorized boat?
No. The state of Kansas does not require boaters to have a driver’s license in order to operate a boat. However, we encourage all boaters to obtain a Kansas Boater Education Card so they can hit the waters with confidence!
Will my Kansas Boating License Card ever expire?
Nope! Your BOATsmart! Card will be good for life. But don’t be a stranger – BOATsmart! offers free refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating knowledge up to date! Kansas’ boating laws may change over time. Make sure you’re in the know.
Will my Kansas Boating License be valid in other states?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 other states, which extend reciprocity to certified boaters. This law applies to operators of motorized boats (who have taken and passed a NASBLA approved boating safety course), but does not apply in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit before operating a boat or PWC there.
Can I access the BOATsmart! Kansas Boating Safety Test without completing the 3-hour Online BOATsmart! Course?
No. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) requires Kansas boaters to complete the full 3-hour online study guide in order to access the online version of the Boater Education Test. However, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed all modules and quizzes you’ll be able to access Kansas’ Official Boater Education Card Test
I read the BOATsmart! Study Guide Module, why can’t I access the next lesson?
In order to access to the next module lesson or the module quiz, you must complete the minimum time requirement on your current lesson page. You’ll likely be able to move forward through the course by the time you check back!
Do I need to insure my boat in Kansas?
Boaters are not required to have boat insurance in Kansas. However, some states require boaters to carry boat insurance, so always check with boating law authorities in the state where you plan to boat in. If you’re the ‘better safe than sorry’ type and plan on getting boat insurance, you’ll recieve a discount with most insurance companies for being a BOATsmart! Card holder. Get certified with BOATsmart! today and save!
I want to get a Kansas Boater Education Card. Where can I take the Boating Safety Test?
You can take the official state approved and NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course & Test on this website. Click here to register for the BOATsmart! Kansas Course.
What are the fines and penaties in Kansas for boaters convicted of operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs?
In Kansas, boaters convicted of operating under the influence will face a maximum fine of up to $500, up to 1 year in prison. Subsequent convictions will result in more severe fines and penalties. Learn more about the penalties for boating with alcohol by taking the BOATsmart! Course.
What is the legal limit for alcohol consumption when operating a boat in Kansas?
In Kansas, you will be convicted of operating a boat while under the influence if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher, within 2 hours of operating the boat. (0.02% or higher if you are under 21 years of age).
I lost my Kansas Boater Education Card – Can I order a replacement?
Yes you can! Accidents happen, right? A Replacement Boater Education Card can be ordered from BOATsmart! for a fee of $9.95. Simply order by calling us toll free at 1-877-655-7778.
Is a Kansas Boater Education Certificate the same thing as a Boating License?
The boating laws in Kansas are in place to keep the state waters a safe place for everyone enjoying them. Always comply with the laws in place and follow any direction given by law enforcement. There are several boating law authorities in the state of Kansas: Officers of the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism, all other peace officers, the U.S. Coast Guard on federal waters.
So, what’s the deal? Do I need a Boater Education Card to go boating in Kansas?
All boaters who are between the ages of 12-20 years old, who are operating a motorized boat, sailboat aor PWC without supervision are required to have a Boater Education Card in Kansas. Understand that most other states will require boaters to carry a Boater Education Certificate, commonly known as a Boating License, during boat operation. If you get your Kansas Boater Education Card now, you’ll be prepared to legally boat in other states and you may also recieve a discount on your recreational boat insurance.
America's Boating Course.
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast.
We’ve been making smart and safe boaters for over 13 years. And we’re proud to be boaters too.
More than 40 U.S. States have mandatory education and boat license requirements for operating motorized boats and PWCs. Each BOATsmart! State Approved Boating Safety Course and Boating License Test has been developed and approved in partnership with state agencies responsible for boating education in that state.