Boating Safety Education is required for boaters born on or after January 1, 1983 wishing to operate a boat with an engine greater than 15 horsepower
A Nevada Boater Education Certificate (or boating license) proves that you’ve obtained the knowledge you need to safely operate a motorized watercraft on Nevada’s waterways. Boaters can get certified by taking the official BOATsmart! Nevada Boating Safety Course and Test now.
Approved By Nevada Department of Wildlife, 1100 Valley Road, Reno, NV 89512, (775) 688-1548, www.ndow.org
Born after January 1st, 1983
Official & State Approved.
We've been making smart boaters for more than 13 years. BOATsmart! is North America’s largest Boating Safety Course Provider. We’re proud to be America’s Official Boating Educator. Your BOATsmart! Card is accepted in more than 40 U.S. states & in Canada. We’ve got you covered!
Our animated and narrated Boating Safety Course is perfect for all ages. Study from your Smartphone, Tablet or Desktop and switch between devices at any time. Get certified now and cruise through at your own pace. We'll automatically track your progress as you go.
Think of us as your boating coaches and get in touch by phone, email or chat anytime you need our support! Our team of safe boating experts can answer any questions you have about getting your Boating License, boating laws or they can even just hook you up with some great tips and advice to help you enjoy your time on the water.
What Happens If It Takes Me Longer Than 3-Hours To Complete The BOATsmart! Course? Will I Need To Start Over?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Study Guide before taking the Final Test.
Where Can I Take Nevada’s Boating Safety Test?
Take the state-approved Boating Test right here on this website. Click here to access BOATsmart!’s 3-hour, Online Course. Keep in mind, you must complete the BOATsmart! Course prior to accessing the Official Test. But there’s no rush, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide at in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed the course you’ll be able to immediately access the test.
What Will I Learn In The BOATsmart! Boater Safety Course?
The BOATsmart! Nevada Course includes all of the knowledge required to pass the Official Nevada Test and obtain your Nevada Boater Education Card including:
Understand boating safety basics and terminology
Understand the Rules and Regulations that govern America’s waterways
Equip your boat with the right equipment
Properly maintain your boat and its equipment
Share the waterways and operate your boat in a safe and responsible manner
Have confidence when navigating amongst other boat traffic during the day or night
Be able to recognize different marker buoys and navigate using them
Know how to respond in emergency situations
Is BOATsmart! a Recognized Boating Safety Organization?
Who Is Required To Wear Life Jackets On Nevada’s Waters?
The only boaters REQUIRED to wear life jackets when boating in Nevada are:
•Any boaters 13 years of age or younger who are on board boats that are underway.
•PWC operators and passengers. Inflatable life jackets will not meet the requirements.
•Passengers being towed by a PWC. Inflatable life jackets will not meet the requirements.
Do I Need A Driver’s License To Operate a Motorized Boat?
No. The state of Nevada does not require boaters to have a driver’s license in order to operate a boat. However, we encourage all boaters to obtain a Nevada Boater Education Card so they can hit the waters with confidence!
Will My Nevada Boating License Card Ever Expire?
Nope! Your BOATsmart! Card will be good for life. But don’t be a stranger – BOATsmart! offers free refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating knowledge up to date! Nevada’s boating laws may change over time. Make sure you’re in the know.
Will My Nevada Boating License Be Valid In Other States?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or PWC there.
Will My BOATsmart! Card Ever Expire?
Your BOATsmart! Card will never expire. But stay in touch after you pass the test – BOATsmart! offers free, online refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating skill and knowledge up to date as years pass and boating regulations change.
Can I Access The BOATsmart! Nevada Boating Safety Test Without Completing The 3-Hour Online BOATsmart! Course?
No. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) requires Nevada boaters to complete the full 3-hour online study guide in order to access the online version of the Boater Education Test. However, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed all modules and quizzes you’ll be able to access Nevada’s Official Boater Education Card Test.
I Read The BOATsmart! Nevada Study Guide Module, Why Can’t I Access The Next Lesson?
In order to access to the next module lesson or the module quiz, you must complete the minimum time requirement on your current lesson page. You’ll likely be able to move forward through the course by the time you check back!
Do I Need To Insure My Boat In Nevada?
Boaters are not required to have boat insurance in Nevada. However, some states require boaters to carry boat insurance, so always check with boating law authorities in the state where you plan to boat in. If you’re the ‘better safe than sorry’ type and plan on getting boat insurance, you’ll recieve a discount with most insurance companies for being a BOATsmart! Card holder. Get certified with BOATsmart! today and save!
I Want To Get A Nevada Boater Education Card. Where Can I Take The Boating Safety Test?
What Are The Fines And Penalties In Nevada For Boaters Convicted Of Operating a Boat While Under The Influence Of Alcohol Or Drugs?
In Nevada, boaters convicted of operating under the influence will face a maximum fine of up to $1,000, up to 6 months in jail, court costs and testing fees. Never drink and drive. Learn more about the penalties for boating with alcohol by taking the BOATsmart! Boater Safety Course.
What Is The Legal Limit For Alcohol Consumption When Operating a Boat In Nevada?
In Nevada, you will be considered to be ‘under the influence’ of alcohol if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher. Take the BOATsmart! Nevada Course to learn more about the risks of boating with alcohol.
I Lost My Nevada Boater Education Card – Can I Order a Replacement?
If your BOATsmart! Boater Education Card is missing or has been destroyed, you can easily purchase a Replacement Card from BOATsmart! for $9.95 per card. Give us a call and we will send you a new BOATsmart! Card in the mail. Toll free 1-877-655-7778.
Is a Nevada Boater Education Certificate The Same Thing As a Boating License?
Yes, the BOATsmart! Nevada Boater Education Card is commonly referred to as a ‘Boating License’ or ‘Boat License Card’.
Who Enforces The Laws On Nevada’s Waterways?
Nevada’s boating laws are in place to keep the state waters a safe place for everyone enjoying them. Always comply with the laws in place and follow any direction given by law enforcement. You can learn more about Nevada’s boating laws by taking the BOATsmart! Nevada Boating Safety Course. There are several boating law authorities in the state of Nevada:
So, What’s The Deal? Do I Need a Boater Education Card To Go Boating In Nevada?
All boaters operating a boat with an engine of 15 horsepower or greater, who were born after Dec. 31, 1982, are required to have a Boater Education Card in Nevada. Understand that most other states will require boaters to carry a Boater Education Certificate, commonly known as a Boating License, during boat operation. If you get your Nevada Boater Education Card now, you’ll be prepared to legally boat in other states and you may also recieve a discount on your recreational boat insurance.
How Do I Prepare For The Nevada Boating Safety Test?
Prepare for the official Nevada Boating Safety Test by taking the BOATsmart! Course which includes animated, narrated and brilliantly illustrated lessons, perfect for all ages. The 3-hour Nevada Boating Safety Course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and by the Nevada Department of Wildlife and includes all the knowledge you need in order to obtain your NevadaBoater Education Certificate.
Is a Boating License Required In Nevada?
Yes, all motorized boat operators born after Dec. 31, 1982, are required to have a Nevada Boating License. There are additional benefits to being a BOATsmart! cardholder – once you’ve obtained a BOATsmart! Card, it will be good for life, it will keep you legal when boating in other states and you’ll even save money on your boat insurance.
America's Boating Course.
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast.
We’ve been making smart and safe boaters for over 13 years. And we’re proud to be boaters too.
More than 40 U.S. States have mandatory education and boat license requirements for operating motorized boats and PWCs. Each BOATsmart! State Approved Boating Safety Course and Boating License Test has been developed and approved in partnership with state agencies responsible for boating education in that state.