Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or PWC there.
Yes. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) requires Washington boaters to complete the full 3-hour online study guide in order to access the online version of the Boater Education Test. However, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed all modules and quizzes you’ll gain access to Washington’s Official Boater Education Card test.
In order to access to the next module lesson or the module quiz, you must complete the minimum time requirement on your current lesson page.
You are only required to register an inflable raft in Washington state if a motor is attached to it. Remember, if the attached motor is 15 horsepower or greater, you will also be required to obtain and carry a Washington Boater Education Card in order to legally operate it. This applies to any type of human-powered craft that a motor has been attached to.
You can take the official NASBLA Approved Test on this website. Click here to access the Official Boating License Course and Test for Washington state.
No, unless you’ll be boating on Washington waters for longer than 60 days. If this is the case, you can purchase a temporary permit for $25 that will be good for an additional 60 days.
Washington boaters (including paddlers) are considered to be ‘under the influence’ of alcohol if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher.
Additionally, boaters are considered to be ‘under the influence’ of marijuana if they exceed 5.0 nanograms, which is consistent with Initiative 502 that legalized marijuana.
Yes. In Washington, if you are convicted of operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you face a fine and possible imprisonment. Never drink and drive any type of vehicle and understand that Washington state is among the states that have the highest number of boating deaths connected to drunk boat operation. You can learn more about the risks of boating with alcohol by taking the BOATsmart! Boater Safety Course.
Lost or destroyed Washington Boater Education Card? You can easily purchase a Replacement Boater Education Card from Washington State Parks for a $5 fee. Expect the replacement boating license to take about 4-6 weeks to arrive in the mail.