No. There are no mandatory boater education requirements in Wyoming, however becoming an educated and more confident boater will make the waters a safer place to relax and enjoy your time.
You can prepare for the official Wyoming Boating Safety Test by taking the BOATsmart! Course which includes animated, narrated and brilliantly illustrated lessons. Perfect for all ages.
The 3-hour BOATsmart! Course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and by the Wyoming Game and Fish department and includes all the knowledge you need in order to obtain your Wyoming Boater Education Card.
Wyoming does not have mandatory education requirements. However, becoming an educated and more confident boater will make the waterways a safer place to relax and enjoy your time.
Most other states and most of Canada’s provinces and territories require boaters to carry a Boater Education Card, more commonly known as a ‘Boating License’. Get the Card, even if you aren’t required to in Wyoming, and you’ll be good to go boating in most of North America.
PWC operators in Wyoming are required to be at least 16 years of age to operate without restrictions. PWC operators under 16 years of age may only operate if they are being supervised by an adult who is 18 years of age or older. Learn more about PWC safety and handling characteristics by taking the BOATsmart! Wyoming Course.
Wyoming’s boaters must always comply with both federal and state boating laws and must follow any direction given by law enforcement. Learn more about Wyoming’s boating laws by taking the BOATsmart! Wyoming’s Course. Wyoming’s boating law authorities you’ll see on the water are:
- All Game and Fish Department law enforcement officers.
- Any other peace officers.
- The U.S. Coast Guard (on federal waters).
Yes, your BOATsmart! Card is the same as a Wyoming Boater Education Card. In Wyoming the ‘Card’ is commonly referred to as a ‘Boating License’, although this is not the correct term.
In Wyoming it is illegal to operate any boat while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or any combination thereof.
In Wyoming, boaters are considered to be under the influence if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.10% or higher. as measured within 3 hours of the time of operation.
Learn more about the risks of drinking and boating by taking the BOATsmart! Wyoming Boating Safety Course!
On a first conviction, drunk boaters will face a minimum fine of $750, and/or up to 6 months imprisonment.
Take the BOATsmart! Wyoming Course to learn more about the effects of alcohol on boaters and the laws for boating with alcohol in Florida.
Take the state-approved Boating Test right here on this website. Click here to access BOATsmart!’s 3-hour, Online Course.
Keep in mind, you must complete the BOATsmart! Course prior to accessing the Official Test. But there’s no rush, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide at in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed the course you’ll be able to immediately access the test.