2. Boating Rules & Regulations

Boat Registration Requirements in Deleware

Boat Registration and Titling Requirements In order to legally operate a boat in Delaware, you must obtain a Certificate of Number (registration card) and validation decals. The Certificate of Number must be on board and be available for inspection by an enforcement officer during boat operation. Exemptions: Non-motorized boats. Boats documented by the Coast Guard. […]

Boat Registration Requirements in South Carolina

Boat Registration and Titling Requirements In order to legally operate a boat in South Carolina, you must obtain a Certificate of Number (registration card) and validation decals. The Certificate of Number must be on board and be available for inspection by an enforcement officer during boat operation. Boat Registration Exemptions: Human-powered boats. Boats that have been […]

Boat Registration Requirements in Mississippi

Boat Registration and Titling Requirements In order to legally operate a motorized boat or sailboat in the state of Mississippi, you must obtain a Certificate of Number (registration card) and validation decals. The Certificate of Number must be on board and be available for inspection by an enforcement officer during boat operation. Which boats require registration? […]

Boat License Requirements in Minnesota

Boat License Requirements Any person from 12-17 years of age, is required to obtain a Minnesota Watercraft Operator’s Permit, commonly called a boat license, to operate a motorized boat over 25 horsepower. Non-residents who already possess an Operator’s Certificate or permit issued by their home state, do not need to obtain another one from Minnesota. […]

Boat Accident Reporting in Illinois

What to do if you’re Involved in a Boat Accident An operator involved in a boat accident is required to: Stop their boat at the scene. Render assistance to any person who has been injured or who is in danger so long as they can do so without risking their safety or their passenger’s safety. […]

Boating and Alcohol Laws in Illinois

Boating and Alcohol: The Laws Boating and alcohol laws vary from state to state. In Illinois is is illegal to operate any boat, or manipulate any waterski, surfboard, or similar device while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It is illegal for the owner of any boat to knowingly allow the boat to be […]

Careless and Reckless Boat Operation in Illinois

Careless and Reckless Boat Operation Reckless boat operation: It is illegal in the state of Illinois to operate any boat or manipulate any waterskis, aquaplane or similar device in a careless, reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person. Examples of reckless boat operation may include: Operating in […]

Boat Registration Requirements in Louisiana

Boat Registration and Titling Requirements In order to legally operate a motorized boat or sailboat in the state of Louisiana, you must obtain a Certificate of Number and validation decals. The Certificate of Number must be on board and available for inspection by an enforcement officer during boat operation. The Certificate of Number and validation […]

Boating License Requirements in Wisconsin

Who needs a Boating License in Wisconsin? Any person born after January 1st, 1989, and who is 16 years of age or older, may operate a motorized boat on Wisconsin waterways if that person holds a valid Boating Safety Certificate, commonly called a boating license. The Certificate must be carried on board during boat operation. […]

Boat Registration in Wisconsin

Boat Registration and Titling Requirements In order to legally operate a boat in the state of Wisconsin, you must obtain a Certificate of Number and validation decals. The Certificate of Number must be carried on board and be available for inspection by an enforcement officer during boat operation. Registration application forms are available at the […]