3. Boating Safety Equipment & Gear

Life Jacket Sizing and Testing

Life Jacket Laws for Children The laws regarding children wearing life jackets vary by state. However, federal law requires any child 12 years of age or younger to wear a Coast Guard- approved Type I, Type II or Type III life jacket while they’re underway on any kind of boat. The only time a child […]

Life Jackets and PFDs

Life Jacket Laws Always have the right safety equipment onboard your boat. It’s one of the most important things you can do for boating safety and it’s the law. Federal law requires that all boats be equipped with one wearable life jacket for each passenger onboard the boat (wearable life jackets include Types I, II, […]

Life Jacket Laws in Kentucky

Kentucky’s Life Jacket Laws All boats must carry a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II, or III life jacket for each passenger on board. Boats that are 16 feet in length and greater, excluding canoes and kayaks, must also carry one, Type IV throwable flotation device (such as a life ring). Children’s Life Jacket Laws In […]

Life Jacket Laws in North Carolina

North Carolina’s Life Jacket Laws Life jacket laws vary from state to state. In North Carolina, you are required to carry one Type I, II or III life jacket, of the appropriate size, for each person on board. Life jackets must be in good condition, and readily available on all recreational vessels. This includes motorized […]

Life Jacket Laws in Texas

Life Jacket Laws All boats, including human-powered craft, must be equipped with one Type I, II, III or V wearable life jacket for each person on board. A Type V life jacket is only acceptable if it is used in accordance with the specific label instructions. Children’s Life Jacket Laws In Texas, passengers 13 years […]

Alabama’s Life Jacket Laws

Alabama’s Life Jacket Laws Every boat operated on Alabama’s waterways is required to carry one Type I, II, III or V,  Coast Guard-approved life jacket or PFD for each person on board or being towed by the boat. If a Type V is used, it must be approved for the activity at hand. All life […]

Florida’s Life Jacket Laws and Muffler Requirements

All boats in Florida are required to carry a Coast Guard-approved, wearable life jacket for each person aboard the boat. Additionally, boats 16 feet in length or greater must also carry a readily accessible, Coast Guard-approved throwable device (i.e. a Type IV PFD). Children’s Life Jacket Law In Florida, passengers 6 years of age and under […]

Hawaii’s Lifejacket Laws

All boats in Hawaii are required to carry a Coast Guard-approved lifejacket for each person aboard the boat. The only exemptions to the lifejacket requirement are racing shells, racing canoes, racing kayaks and rowing skulls. Children’s Lifejacket Law In Hawaii, passengers  12 years of age and younger (or under 13 years of age) are required […]

Life Jacket and Personal Flotation Device Laws in Washington

All boats in Washington (including human-powered or non-motorized craft, such as kayaks and inflatable rafts) are required to carry a Coast Guard-approved, wearable life jacket for each person aboard the boat. Additionally, boats greater than 16 feet in length must also carry a readily accessible, Coast Guard-approved throwable device (i.e. a Type IV PFD). Life […]

Arizona’s Life Jacket and Boat Equipment Laws

In Arizona, all boat types, except sailboards, are required to carry one, Coast Guard-approved, wearable life jacket in good and serviceable condition for each person on board and placed so as to be readily accessible for immediate use. Some rowing skulls and racing shells are also exempt. Children’s Life Jacket Law In Arizona, passengers 12 […]