Kentucky

Kentucky’s Boat Accident Reporting Requirements

A boat operator involved in a boat accident is required to: Stop their boat at the scene. Render assistance to any person who has been injured or who is in danger so long as they can do so without ris...

Boating License Requirements in Kentucky

Who Needs a Boating License? A boating license is not required in the state of Kentucky for any person who is 18 years of age or older. However any person who is 12-17 years of age is required to com...

Life Jacket Laws in Kentucky

Kentucky’s Life Jacket Laws All boats must carry a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II, or III life jacket for each passenger on board. Boats that are 16 feet in length and greater, excluding canoes an...

Boating Litter Laws and Waste Disposal in Kentucky

Litter Laws in Kentucky It is illegal to discharge raw sewage into any public waters. All boats that are equipped with a marine toilet must also be equipped with a Type I, II or III Marine Sanitation ...

Careless and Negligent Boat Operation in Kentucky

Negligent Boat Operation Laws in Kentucky In Kentucky it is illegal to operate a boat in a reckless, negligent, or dangerous manner which may endanger the life or property of any person. The operator ...

Kentucky’s Laws for Boating and Alcohol

Boating and Alcohol Laws in Kentucky It is against the law to operate a boat or vessel including a personal watercraft (PWC), manipulate waterskis, surfboard or other similar device while intoxicated ...