Nevada's State Boating Laws - negligent operation

Nevada’s Laws for Reckless of Negligent Boat Operation

It is illegal in the state of Nevada to operate any boat or manipulate any waterskis, surfboard or similar device in a careless, reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person.

Examples of reckless or negligent boat operation include:

  • Riding on the bow, gunwale, transom or outboard engine cover.
  • Maneuvering a towed skier or device so as to pass the towline over another boat or its skier.
  • Chasing or harassing wildlife with any boat.
  • Navigating any boat, skis or device between a towing boat and its tow.
  • Operating a motorized boat while any person is hanging onto, or sitting, standing or riding on, a swim platform or a swim ladder that is attached to the boat.
  • Overloading a boat beyond it’s safe carrying capacity.

Nevada’s Laws for Boat Speed Limits and Operation in Restricted Areas

In Nevada, it is illegal to operate a motorized boat at a speed greater than “No Wake” speed within 100 feet of an anchored or moored boat, a person engaged in angling from another boat or any human-powered boat (i.e. a kayak, raft, canoe, etc.).

It is also unlawful to operate at greater than “No Wake” speed within 100 feet of a beach frequented by bathers.

Additionally, it is illegal to operate a boat in any restricted or zoned area, such as a designated swimming area. To find out more about the locations of Nevada’s restricted and zoned areas, visit: www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-488.html#NAC488Sec430.