Arizona’s Boater Education Requirements
Although at this time there are no mandatory education requirements in Arizona, having a Boater Education Card will make you a better, more confident boater and may also be beneficial with regard to reciprocity regulations, should you ever choose to boat in another state where boater education is required.
Arizona’s Age and Horsepower Restrictions
Children that are 12 years of age or under are not permitted to operate a boat of more than 8 horsepower, including personal watercraft (PWCs), unless:
- They are directly supervised by a parent or guardian, or a person who is 18 years of age or older.
- It is an emergency situation.
Boating laws in Arizona are enforced by:
- Officers of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.
- County deputy sheriffs.
- Municipal officers.
- Park rangers.
- All peace officers of the state, counties and cities.
- The Coast Guard (on federal waters).
Enforcement officers have the authority to stop and board boats to ensure they are in complying with state laws.
When signaled by law enforcement, boat operators are required to stop their boat and allow officers to come aboard or alongside. The operator may be ordered ashore to correct any unlawful or unsafe condition. Any operator who willfully flees or attempts to elude law enforcement will be guilty of a class 5 felony.