According to Arizona’s life jackert laws, all boat types, except sailboards, are required to carry one, Coast Guard-approved, wearable life jacket in good and serviceable condition for each person on board and placed so as to be readily accessible for immediate use. Some rowing skulls and racing shells are also exempt.
Children’s Life Jacket Law
In Arizona, passengers 12 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket when on board any boat that is underway.
Requirements for Personal Watercraft (PWC)
Accoring to Arizona’s life jacket requirements, any person operating a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket.
Requirements for Towed Sports
Any person being towed behind a boat is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, life jacket, or a buoyant belt.
Arizona’s Muffler Requirements
All boats are required to be equipped with an effective noise muffling system. It is illegal to operate a boat that emits a level of noise in excess of any of the following, unless the boat is operating under a special permit:
- A noise level of 86dB(A) when the sound level is being measured at a distance of 50 feet or more from the boat.
- A noise level of 90dB(A) for any engine manufactured prior to Jan 1st, 1993, when the stationary sound level test (SAEJ2005) is performed.
- A noise level of 88dB(A) for any engine manufactured on or after January 1st, 1993, when a stationary sound level test (SAEJ2005) is performed.
- A noise level of 75dB(A) when a shoreline sound level test (SAEJ1970) is performed.