Boating License Requirements in Alaska
There are no boating license requirements in Alaska.
The state of Alaska does not require boaters to obtain and carry a Boater Education Card (commonly called a boating license). However, obtaining a Boating License will make you a safer and more confident boater.
Alaska’s Age and Horsepower Restrictions
There are no age restrictions or supervision requirements for boat operators in Alaska.
Alaska’s Life Jacket Laws
All boats in Alaska (including human-powered, such as kayaks and inflatable rafts, are required to carry a Coast Guard-approved, wearable lifejacket for each person aboard the boat. Additionally, boats greater than 16 feet in length must also carry a readily accessible, Coast Guard-approved throwable device (i.e. a Type IV).
Children’s Life Jacket Laws in Alaska
In Alaska, all boat passengers 13 years of age and younger are required to wear a Coast Guard-approved lifejacket while in an open boat, on an open deck or while being towed on water-skis or other devices.
Overall, it’s important that boat operators are familiar with the boater education requiremetns, and life jacket regulations that apply if their state. Even if your state does not require that you obtain a boater education card, it is highly recommended to ensure that you are safe and confident on the water, and understand how to react in the even of an emergency.