Idaho's State Boating Laws

Idaho requires that each vessel or personal watercraft must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable Type I, II, III or V life jacket of proper size, in serviceable condition, and readily accessible for each person aboard or being towed.

Children’s Life Jacket Law

Idaho's life jacket laws

In Idaho, children 14 years of age or younger, on board vessels 19 feet or less, must wear an approved life jacket when the vessel is underway. This includes human-powered vessels (such as canoes and rafts).

Muffler and Noise Level Requirements

In Idaho, all vessel engines must have an effective, permanently installed muffling system that cannot be bypassed. Excessive noise could prevent a vessel operator from hearing signals and voices.

Legal Noise Levels:

  • Vessels built before January 1, 1995, must not exceed 90 dB(A) using the stationary test.
  • Vessels built on or after January 1, 1995, must not exceed 88 dB(A) using the stationary test.
  • While operating on lakes and rivers wider than 500 feet, it is illegal to exceed 75 dB(A) as measured from shore.