Nevada's Life Jacket Laws

Every boat must carry at least one Coast Guard-approved life jacket for each person on board and for any person being towed by the boat, placed so as to be readily accessible for use in an emergency.

Additionally, every boat which is 26 feet or more in length, regardless of its method of propulsion, must carry, placed so as to be readily accessible for use in an emergency, a Type IV, Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device which is capable of being thrown, such as a ring, life buoy or buoyant cushion, with not less than 30 feet of throwing line attached.

Children’s Life Jacket Law

Nevada's Lifejacket Laws

In Nevada, passengers 13 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket while on board any boat while the boat is underway, unless they are in an enclosed area.

Personal Watercraft (PWC) Life Jacket Law

Any person operating or riding on a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted for use on PWCs.

Towed Sports Life Jacket Law

Any person being towed by a personal watercraft (PWC) is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted for towing activities.

START NOW