According to Rhode Island’s life jacket laws, all boats are required to carry at least one Coast Guard-approved, wearable life jacket for each person on board.
Children’s Life Jacket Law
In Rhode Island, passengers 13 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket while underway on any boat that is under 65 feet in length, unless the child is below deck or in an enclosed cabin.
Personal Watercraft (PWC) Life Jacket Law
Rhode Island’s life jacket laws require any person operating or riding on a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket.
Towed Sports Life Jacket Law
Any person being towed by a boat is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket.
For more information on boating rules and regulations, and equipment requirements that apply within the state of Rhode Island, visit the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management website.