According to Tennessee’s boater education requirements, any Tennessee resident born after January 1, 1989, must show the Tennessee Wildlife and Resources Agency-issued wallet Boating Safety Education Certificate as proof of successful completion of the TWRA Boating Safety Exam. No other certificate will be accepted as meeting the requirements of the law.
Tennessee’s Boater Education Exemptions:
- For non-residents born after January 1, 1989, the TWRA will accept any NASBLA-approved boating safety certificate.
- If there is an adult on board (who is at least 18 years old, (and if born after January 1st, 1989, possesses the certification) who is able to take immediate control of the boat.
- Those operating boats with an engine horsepower of 8.5 or less, and operators of wind-powered sailboats.
Tennessee’s Age/Horsepower Restrictions
Persons 12 years of age and under may not operate a motorized boat of more than 8.5 horsepower unless they are accompanied by an adult who can take immediate control of the boat. If the accompanying adult is born after January 1st, 1989, then he/she must have the Boating Safety Certification Card on board.
Additionally, personal watercraft (PWCs) may not be rented by anyone younger than 16 years of age.
For more information on boater education regulations in Tennessee visit https://www.tn.gov/twra/boating/boating-education.html