What is a Kentucky Boater Education Card
The Kentucky boater education card is proof that a boater has successfully passed the Kentucky Boating Safety Test. All boat operators who are 12-17 years of age are required to get certified to legally operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 10 hp.
Is the Kentucky Boater Education Card the same as a Boating License?
The Kentucky Boater Education Card is proof of successful completion of the Kentucky state-approved boater education course. The card is commonly referred to as a “boating license” However, unlike a license the Boater Education Card does not expire, and does not need to be renewed.
Who needs a Kentucky Boater Education Card?
Boat operators who are 12-17 years of age are required to complete a state-approved boater education course and get certified. Operators who are 18 years of age or older do not require certification however, it is recommended.
Who is exempt from having to obtain a Kentucky Boater Education Card?
- Boat operators who are over 18 years of age
- Non-residents who have successfully completed a boater education course in their state of residence
What is the penalty for not having a card?
Boat operators within the state of Kentucky who are operating without a required Boater Education Card may receive a fine.
How do I get a Kentucky Boater Education Card?
You can obtain your official Boater Education Card from BOATsmart! in three steps:
- Take the BOATsmart! Kentucky Boating Safety Course online.
- Pass the Kentucky Boating Safety Test online.
- Print a Temporary Card immediately.
Will my Kentucky Boater Education Card ever expire?
No. Your Kentucky Boater Education Card is good for life. However, it’s important to keep up-to-date with the most recent boating safety regulations. Be sure to take advantage of BOATsmart!’s free refresher lessons to be sure you’re aware of the rules that apply in your state.
How do I replace my Kentucky Boater Education Card?
You can easily purchase a replacement Kentucky Boater Education Cards from BOATsmart!. Call us at 1-877-655-7778 to order, or login to your BOATsmart! Account to order online.
Do I need a Driver’s License to operate a boat in Kentucky?
No. The state of Kentucky does not require boaters to have a driver’s license in order to operate a boat. However, they do require operators who are 12-17 years of age to get certified with a Boater Education Card, if they wish to operate a boat powered by a motor of 10 hp or more.
Do I need a Boater Education Card for all types of boats?
The Kentucky boater education card is required to legally operate a recreational boat powered by a motor of more than 10 hp.
How long does the Kentucky Boater Education Card take?
The state of Kentucky requires that you spend a minimum of 3 hours studying the online course. The purchase of your BOATsmart! Kentucky Boating Safety Course includes unlimited lifetime access.
Is my Kentucky Boater Education Card valid in other states?
Yes. The Kentucky Boater Education Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or PWC there.