Kentucky’s Life Jacket Laws
Kentucky’s life jacket laws state that all boats must carry a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II, or III life jacket for each passenger on board. Boats that are 16 feet in length and greater, excluding canoes and kayaks, must also carry one, Type IV throwable flotation device (such as a life ring).
Children’s Life Jacket Laws
In Kentucky, passengers 12 years of age or under are required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket while underway on any open boat or when on the open deck of any type of boat.
Requirements for Personal Watercraft (PWC)
Any person operating a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket.
Requirements for Towed Sports
Any person being towed behind a boat is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket.
Kentucky’s Muffler and Noise Level Laws for Boats
Kentucky law requires all boats to be equipped with effective exhaust muffling devices. Usually, boats and motors that come direct from the manufacturer are adequately muffled.
It is illegal to modify the existing muffling system of a boat if the modification results in increased noise. Additionally, there may be federal and/or local regulations which restrict boats with an over-the-transom exhaust system.