BOATsmart! is recognized and trusted by state governments and regulatory agencies across the United States. We’re proud to be America’s leader in Boating Safety.
An Arizona Boater Education Card (or boating license) proves that you’ve obtained the knowledge to safely operate a motorized watercraft on Arizona’s waterways. Boaters can get certified by taking the official BOATsmart! Arizona Boating Safety Course and Test now.
Approved By Arizona Game and Fish Department, 5000 W. Carefree Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85086-5000, 602-942-3000, http://www.azgfd.gov
Official & State Approved.
We've been making smart boaters for more than 13 years. BOATsmart! is North America’s largest Boating Safety Course Provider. We’re proud to be America’s Official Boating Educator. Your BOATsmart! Card is accepted in more than 40 U.S. states & in Canada. We’ve got you covered!
Our animated and narrated Boating Safety Course is perfect for all ages. Study from your Smartphone, Tablet or Desktop and switch between devices at any time. Get certified now and cruise through at your own pace. We'll automatically track your progress as you go.
Think of us as your boating coaches and get in touch by phone, email or chat anytime you need our support! Our team of safe boating experts can answer any questions you have about getting your Boating License, boating laws or they can even just hook you up with some great tips and advice to help you enjoy your time on the water.
My 3-Hour Study Guide Timer Has Almost Finished Its Countdown, What Happens If I Run Out Of Time?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Study Guide before taking the Final Test.
Where Can I Take Arizona’s Boating Safety Test?
Take the state-approved Boating Test right here on this website. Click here to access BOATsmart!’s 3-hour, Online Course. Keep in mind, you must complete the BOATsmart! Course prior to accessing the Official Test. But there’s no rush, you don’t have to complete the entire Study Guide at in one sitting. BOATsmart! will automatically track and save your progress. Once you’ve completed the course you’ll be able to immediately access the test.
What Will I Learn In The BOATsmart! Boater Safety Course?
Understand the Rules and Regulations that govern America’s waterways
Equip your boat with the right equipment
Properly maintain your boat and its equipment
Share the waterways and operate your boat in a safe and responsible manner
Have confidence when navigating amongst other boat traffic during the day or night
Be able to recognize different marker buoys and navigate using them
Know how to respond in emergency situations
Is BOATsmart! a Recognized Boating Safety Organization?
Yes. The BOATsmart! Boating Safety Course and Official Boating Safety Test have been officially approved by the Arizona Game and Fish Department, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and is also recognized by the United States Coast Guard (USCG).
Who Is Required To Wear Life Jackets On Arizona Waters?
The only boaters REQUIRED to wear their life jackets in Arizona are:
Boaters 12 years of age or younger who are on board boats that are underway.
PWC operators and passengers.
Passengers being towed (i.e. water-skiers)
What Are The Minimum Technical Requirements To Access The Online Boating Safety Test?
The following technical requirements are necesssary:
1024 x 768 Screen Resolution
Firefox 3.0 or greater
Internet Explorer 6.0 or greater
Safari 2.0 or greater
Some pop-up blockers may require you to enable pop-ups to use this site
Certain areas of this site require Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader
The final exam requires Internet Connectivity which is at 56kb or above
Are Personal Watercraft (PWC) Operators Required To Have An Arizona Boating License?
No, boaters operating a personal watercraft (PWC), commonly known as a ‘WaveRunner’, ‘SeaDoo’ or ‘Jet-ski’, are not required to have an Arizona Boating License. However, there are age restrictions for PWC operators in Arizona. Specifically, it is illegal for a person under the age of 12 to operate a PWC with a motor greater than 8 HP unless an emergency exists or another person at least 18 years of age is on board the PWC.
Do I Need An Arizona Driver’s License In Order To Operate a Motorized Boat In The State?
No. Arizona does not require boaters to have a driver’s license in order to legally operate a boat. However, boaters have the option to receive a boating safety education and obtain a boating license. We believe every boater in Arizona should hit the water with confidence!
Will My BOATsmart! Arizona Boating License Ever Expire?
Never. Your BOATsmart! Card will be good for life. But make sure you visit us after you pass the test. BOATsmart! offers free refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating knowledge up to date!
Will My BOATsmart! Boating License Be Valid For Boating In Other States?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Boating Safety Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or a PWC there.
Can I Challenge The BOATsmart! Arizona Test? Or Do I Have To Complete The 3-Hour Online BOATsmart! Arizona Course?
The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) requires boaters to complete the full 3-hour online study guide in order to access the online version of the Arizona Boater Education Test. Once you’ve completed all modules and quizzes, you’ll be able to access Arizona’s Official Boater Safety Test.
I Read The BOATsmart! Study Guide Module, Why Can’t I Access The Next Lesson?
In order to access to the next module lesson or the module quiz, you must complete the minimum time requirement on your current lesson page. Once the timer is up, you can move on to the next lesson.
How Do I Register My Boat In Arizona?
All motorized boats in Arizona are required to be registered. A properly registered boat has these three things: A Certificate of Number (the ownership document), an AZ number and a set of decals. Boaters can download their registration application document from the Arizona Game and Fish Department website.
I Want To Get An Arizona Boater Education Card. Where Can I Take The Boating Safety Test?
You can take Arizona’s state approved Boating Safety Course and official Test on this website. Click here to get your Arizona boating license.
What Are Arizona’s Penalties And Fines For Boaters Who Are Convicted Of Operating a Boat While Under The Influence Of Alcohol Or Drugs?
Arizona boaters convicted of operating under the influence (OUI) will face a maximum fine of up to $3,150 and face up to 45 days in jail. Subsequent violations will be punishable by more severe fines and penalties.
America's Boating Course.
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast.
We’ve been making smart and safe boaters for over 13 years. And we’re proud to be boaters too.
More than 40 U.S. States have mandatory education and boat license requirements for operating motorized boats and PWCs. Each BOATsmart! State Approved Boating Safety Course and Boating License Test has been developed and approved in partnership with state agencies responsible for boating education in that state.