Florida Boating Education Card
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to get my replacement cards?
Replacement Florida Boating Education ID Cards are issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, and typically arrive within 2-3 weeks. You can contact the FWC by email at [email protected] or by calling 850-488-5600 for more information about replacement cards.
What is the penalty for not having a card?
Boaters caught without a Boating Safety Education ID Card may receive a fine of up to:
- $50 for a first offence
- $250 for a second offence within 12 months of a prior conviction
- $500 for a third offence within 36 months of a prior conviction, or
- $1000 for a fourth or subsequent offence.
Will BOATsmart! automatically send a request to FWC to issue my card?
Yes. Once you’ve completed your Florida Boating Safety Education Card, BOATsmart! Automatically send a request to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission to issue your card. Typically, your card will arrive within 2-3 weeks.
What if I obtained my boater card through another course provider?
Contact the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation commission via email at [email protected] for more information about replacement cards, and who issues your Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card.
BOATING IN FLORIDA
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Farris Bryant Building 620 S. Meridian St
Tallahassee, FL, 32399
Trusted from coast-to-coast, Florida approved
The official BOATsmart! Florida Boating Safety Course is approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and recognized by the US Coast Guard.
BOATsmart! has provided online boating safety education across North America since 2013. Our courses are designed and developed by real boaters, subject matter experts and instructional design educators. We’ve certified more than 650,000 boaters online and are proud to be the choice of boaters from coast-to-coast.