What is a Georgia Boater Education Card?
The Georgia boater education card is proof that a boater has successfully passed the Georgia Boating Safety Test. All boat operators after Jan. 1, 1998 are required to get certified to legally operate a motorized boat within the state. .
Is the Georgia Boater Education Card the same as a Boating License?
The Georgia Boater Education Card is proof of successful completion of the Georgia state-approved boater education course. The card is commonly referred to as a “boating license” However, unlike a license the Boater Education Card does not expire, and does not need to be renewed.
Who needs a Georgia Boater Education Card?
Boat operators born after January 1, 1998 are required to obtain a Georgia Boater Education Card, in order to legally operate a motorized boat within the state.
Who is exempt from having to obtain a Georgia Boater Education Card?
- A person licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.
- A person operating on a private lake or pond.
- A non-resident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA-approved Boater Education Course or equivalency examination from another state.
What is the fine for not having a card?
Boat operators who require mandatory boater education and are caught operating a vessel without the card may be subject to a fine of up to $1000.
How do I get a Georgia Boater Education Card?
You can obtain your official Boater Education Card from BOATsmart! in three steps:
- Take the BOATsmart! Georgia Boating Safety Course online.
- Pass the Georgia Boating Safety Test online.
- Print a Temporary Certificate immediately.
Will my Georgia Boater Education Card ever expire?
No. Your Georgia Boater Education Card is good for life. However, it’s important to keep up-to-date with the most recent boating safety regulations. Be sure to take advantage of BOATsmart!’s free refresher lessons to be sure you’re aware of the rules that apply in your state.
How do I replace my Georgia Boater Education Card?
You can easily purchase a replacement Georgia Boater Education Cards from BOATsmart!. Call us at 1-877-655-7778 to order, or login to your BOATsmart! Account to order online.
Do I need a Driver’s License to operate a boat in Georgia?
No. The state of Georgia does not require boaters to have a driver’s license in order to operate a boat. However, if you were born after January 1, 1998 you are required to obtain a Boater Education Card to legally operate a motorized boat within the state.
Do I need a Boater Education Card for all types of boats?
Depending on your age, the Georgia Boater Education Card is required to legally operate any motorized recreational boat within the state.
How long does the Georgia Boater Education Course take?
The state of Georgia requires that you spend a minimum of 3 hours studying the online course. The purchase of your BOATsmart! Georgia Boating Safety Course includes unlimited lifetime access.
Is my Georgia Boater Education Card valid in other states?
Yes. The Georgia Boater Education Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or PWC there.